Five Ways to Avoid Sinful Habits And Thoughts

The Bible tells us that it is important to guard our minds from sinful thoughts. From wrong thinking comes wrong actions.

Proverbs 4:23
Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.

This verse says that to guard your heart it will take diligence. That means it is something that doesn’t happen without effort.

II Corinthians 10:5 says that we need to bring wrong thoughts into captivity. You and I must control our mind so that we can obey Christ.

II Corinthians 10:5
5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

I. FILL YOUR MIND WITH GOD’S WORD
Philippians 4:8
Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

The Bible fits the description of all these things that Paul writes about in Philippians. When we pack our mind with songs full of ungodly lyrics we can’t expect to have pure thoughts. We need to focus on the true, honest and pure teaching of the Bible.

II. KEEP YOUR MIND CLEAN
Psalm 101:3
I will set no wicked thing before mine eyes: I hate the work of them that turn aside; it shall not cleave to me.

Job 31:1
I made a covenant with mine eyes; why then should I think upon a maid?

As the verse in 2d Corinthians 10:4-5 reminds us that the battle for our mind is an active one. It is not something that you and I can passively win. We must work to keep our minds pure. The psalmist says (101:3) that he would set no wicked thing before his eyes. Job covenanted with himself to keep his eyes pure because he knew that men are attracted by what they see. These two aforementioned verses say that if you and I keep our eyes from seeing things that are wicked then the likelihood of keeping a pure mind is greater.

There is daily battle for our eyes.

III. ESTABLISH ACCOUNTIBILITY WITH SOMEONE
Hebrews 10:24-25
24 And let us consider one another to provoke unto love and to good works:
25 Not forsaking the assembling of ourselves together, as the manner of some is; but exhorting one another: and so much the more, as ye see the day approaching.

Find a friend who can hold you accountable. Meet with them regularly either in person, over the phone or texting.

Proverbs 11:14
Where no counsel is, the people fall: but in the multitude of counsellors there is safety.

Proverbs 15:22
Without counsel purposes are disappointed: but in the multitude of counsellors they are established.

IV. VIEW OTHERS WITH GODLY EYES
1 Timothy 5:1-2
1 Rebuke not an elder, but intreat him as a father; and the younger men as brethren;
2 The elder women as mothers; the younger as sisters, with all purity.

When we view other people as objects to be desired, it is hard to have godly thoughts towards them.

V. AVOID TEMPTATION
Romans 13:14
14 But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfil the lusts thereof.

Fellow believers, we must claim the power of Romans 13:14 and have confidence that the God who wrote this in His Word has the power to help us apply it in our life.

If you do not know Jesus Christ, as your Lord and Savior, I appeal to you to examine your life, and welcome Jesus into your heart today by praying and believing the prayer below:

Prayer of Salvation:
God, I come to you, confessing that I am a sinner.
I Repent of all my wrongdoings, and I ask for your forgiveness, and your assistance in helping me to forgive those who have wronged me, in the past.
I now confess that Jesus Christ is the Son of God, died for my sins, and rose again for my justification.
I invite Jesus to; come into my heart, clean up my life, and guide my decisions from this day forward.
Thank You, Jesus for saving me!

Leave a Reply

