The Dash Between Birth And Death Dates

We all have a birth date and, barring being raptured, a death date. What you and I do with the dash between those two dates determines the course that our life takes when our course ends. Will people be able to say that there is no doubt that you and I were Christians who now reside in the presence of God, or will they have to guess about our destiny? Worse yet, may be they will be convinced that we are spending our eternity with Satan.

For the most part, you and I determine the course that our lives take. I say for the most part because God does allow things to happen in our lives over which we have no control.

In II Timothy 4:5-8, Paul was charging Timothy about how to spend his course of life.
5 But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.
6 For I am now ready to be offered, and the time of my departure is at hand.
7 I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:
8 Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

Paul compared life with the aforementioned course.

Hebrews 12:1
12 Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,

The cloud of witnesses refers to the people of faith mentioned in Hebrews chapter 11. They are not actually spectators watching us; they are witnesses testifying to the truth of the faith (Hebrews 11:2, 4-6). Weight is anything that hinders a runner.

To sum it up, if you and I leave God’s gift to us laying on a table and do not become a Christian, you and I have no hope. We will continue to belong to Satan: and our destination when we conclude our life’s course will be down the broad road to the finish line to where the Bible calls the Lake of Fire.

Let the “dash” between your birth and death dates be God centered, not Satan centered.

If you have never accepted what Jesus did for you on the cross, then today show your appreciation and accept Jesus as your Lord and Savior. Make the “dash” between your birth and death dates mean something. Let your life be Christ centered, beginning now. Tomorrow is not promised, please give Jesus your heart today. Don’t leave your gift on the table.

Leave a Reply

