How’s Your Relationship With God?

Matthew 12:30
He that is not with me is against me; and he that gathereth not with me scattereth abroad.

I. TO BE A CHRISTIAN IS TO HAVE A RELATIONSHIP WITH GOD THROUGH CHRIST.
John 14:6
Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Romans 6:3-5
3 Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?
4 Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.
5 For if we have been planted together in the likeness of his death, we shall be also in the likeness of his resurrection:

Galatians 3:26-27
26 For ye are all the children of God by faith in Christ Jesus.
27 For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ.

Read also Galatians 4:8-9

A. It is Personal because it is your SALVATION.
When you are saved by the gospel, you know God:
1 Corinthians 1:21
For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe.
B. Christ DIED FOR YOU AND SAVES YOU when YOU TRUST AND OBEY.
Matthew 11:28-29
28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.
29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

Mark 16:16
He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned.

II. TO HAVE A RELATIONSHIP, CERTAIN THINGS MUST BE PRESENT:
A. A Relationship Requires Contact: You must have contact with God.
John 14:7-9
1. The Lord knows each of us. Nathanael John 1:47-48
2. Question is, do we know God? I John 2:12-14
B. A Relationship Requires Spending Time Together. You must spend time with God
1. Spend time in communication (Moses Numbers 12:7).
2. From God: Spend Time with the Bible: John 14:10; Heb 1:1-2.
3. With God: Prayer 1 Thessalonians 5:17 Pray without ceasing.
4. Quiet time with God: Mark 1:35 35 And in the morning, rising up a great while before day, he went out, and departed into a solitary place, and there prayed.
C. A Relationship Requires Trust: John 14:11 11 Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake.

Folks, WE TRUST WHO WE KNOW!
The call of the gospel is to know God, and more importantly, to be known by God, Galatians 4:8-9. Those who know Christ and are known by Him, “do the will of the Father,” Matthew 7:1-23.

Leave a Reply

