God Given Wisdom

James 1:5-8 If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him.
(6) But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind.
(7) For let us not that man suppose that he will receive anything from the Lord
(8)He is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

Brothers and sisters, the Wisdom God gives is not necessarily information on how to get out of trouble but rather insight on how to learn from one’s difficulties, (Proverbs 29:15). It is not more information about how to avoid times of testing but instead a new perspective on trials. The Wisdom of God begins with a genuine reverence for the Almighty and steadfast confidence that God controls all circumstances, guiding them to His good purposes, Romans 8:28.

Proverbs 29:15 The rod and rebuke give wisdom, but a child left to himself brings shame to his mother.

Romans 8:28 And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

As a child, I always tried to outsmart my mother. I tried this for a while until I realized my mom was much smarter than my young self, and one day I finally stopped arguing with her. I had finally accepted that I would never be able to outsmart her; she was beyond me and my childish thoughts.

In the Book of Acts, we see various men trying to argue with Stephen and question him. Just like my young self and couldn’t compete with my mom, these men couldn’t win the argument against Stephen. He was full of the Holy Spirit, who gives ultimate wisdom, the wisdom of God. When Stephen spoke, he didn’t speak like a regular man, He spoke as one who was led by the Holy Spirit. The result was words that were filled with wisdom and truth.

Brothers and sisters, the power of God’s Holy Spirit was evident the men couldn’t dent or resist it. They knew Stephen spoke wisdom, even if their ears didn’t like what they heard.

May we be people who speak the Wisdom of God and are fueled by His Spirit.

Heavenly Father, renew my mind and give me wisdom, fill my life with Your Spirit so it will be undeniable that I am Yours.

Accept Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, today. Today is the day of salvation. Now is the accepted time. You may not really have tomorrow. Have a Blessed Day.

Written By Edward Jeffries

Leave a Reply

