I Chose You

John 15:16
Ye have not chosen me, but I have chosen you, and ordained you, that ye should go and bring forth fruit, and that your fruit should remain: that whatsoever ye shall ask of the Father in my name, he may give it you.

Jeremiah 1:5
Before I formed thee in the belly I knew thee; and before thou camest forth out of the womb I sanctified thee, and I ordained thee a prophet unto the nations.

Jeremiah was aware that the call of God in his life had been determined by God from before his conception. As God’s word became a reality in his life, the prophet understood that God knew him and had called him to proclaim a critical message at a crucial point in the history of the nation.

The word knew refers to an intimate knowledge that comes from relationship and personal commitment. The intimate relationship was made apparent in God’s sanctifying work whereby Jeremiah was “set apart,” (made holy) for special service. Jeremiah’s role was to be a prophet to the nation of Judah as well as a messenger of God for all nations.

Folks, as a child (kid) standing around in a group, while every other person gets chosen for a team is a feeling most every kid fears. It is a fear you and I still have as adults. While today we may not find ourselves hoping to be selected for a basketball, baseball, or football team, there is something for which we want to be chosen. None of us wants to feel or be left out.

The Book of Jeremiah begins with God telling the prophet that before he was even born, God “knew you.” That phase “knew you” in the Hebrew means “chose” and is actually translated that way in many versions of the Bible. Before Jeremiah ever breathed a breath God chose him and had a task for him.

Folks, God has chosen each of us. As followers of Christ you and I are someone God chose. God wants you and I on His team, and He has a plan for us. Just as God chose Jeremiah for a special reason, God has picked you and I for a wonderfully unique purpose.

Jeremiah 29:11
For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.

Heavenly Father, thank you for choosing me and for giving my life a purpose.

One thought on “I Chose You

Leave a Reply

