Our Eternal Home Awaits Us

II Corinthians 5:7-8
7 (For we walk by faith, not by sight:)
8 We are confident, I say, and willing rather to be absent from the body, and to be present with the Lord.

Sight means ” appearance.” Christ is not physically present, so you and I live by faith.

John 20:29
Jesus saith unto him, Thomas, because thou hast seen me, thou hast believed: blessed are they that have not seen, and yet have believed.

Friends, those who have not seen includes all who have believed in Christ since His ascension to the Father.

I Peter 1:8-9
8 Whom having not seen, ye love; in whom, though now ye see him not, yet believing, ye rejoice with joy unspeakable and full of glory:
9 Receiving the end of your faith, even the salvation of your souls.

1:8 Having not seen: Only a few believers had the privilege of walking and talking with Jesus when He was on the earth. (Read John 20:29 above).

1:9 Receiving the end: Folks, there is a final positive outcome for trusting God through all the difficulties of life – our salvation, which here has an eschatological sense. Eschatological is part of theology concerned with death, judgment and the final destiny of the soul and humankind.

Salvation of your souls: This phrase refers to our glorification in heaven and perhaps the rewards we will receive for following Christ. Please read Matthew 16:24-27 Take Up Your Cross and Follow Him.
Apostle Paul was aware that his earthly body was wasting away, which led him to desire to depart this earth and to be in glory with his Savior. Friends, are we (you and I) aware that our earthly bodies are wasting away and it is our desire to depart this place we call earth and to be in glory with the Lord.
Apostle Paul knew that our mortal bodies are weak and that our sinful nature keeps us from enjoying the full presence of God.

I believe there are many things that can capture our attention in life. Inadvertently, you and I can strive to please others rather than God.

This mortal life has its challenges, and the very thought of being in God’s presence is so powerful.

Friends, until the Lord calls us to our heavenly home, you and I are commissioned to carry the gospel to every creature.

Matthew 28:19
Philippians 3:20

ALL WE DO, WE DO FOR GOD AND FOR HIS GLORY.

Heavenly Father, one day I know that I will stand before You and give an account of my life. Help me do my best for You so that I will hear the words, “Well done my good and faithful servant.” Help me to stay faithful in the midst of the challenges of this life.

One thought on “Our Eternal Home Awaits Us

Leave a Reply

