When Things Don’t Go Well

The words that some people like to quote when misfortune hits :
a. Why Me?
b. What Happened?
c. I don’t know/I don’t understand?

Brothers and Sisters, those were my words when a tragedy befell my family 3 days after Thanksgiving, in the year 2000. At approximately 2:30/3:00 AM. Everything we owned was destroyed in the fire except the clothes we were wearing. We lost items from Germany, Korea, Japan, France, Italy, just to name a few places we had lived and traveled.

You never know when a tragedy may occur. Sleep with your clothes (PJ’s) on.

Luke 12:35
Let your loins be girded about, and your lights burning;

Girding the waist involved pulling up the hem of a robe so that one could run.

Revelation 16:15
Behold, I come as a thief. Blessed is he that watcheth, and keepeth his garments, lest he walk naked, and they see his shame.

My biggest question, Why Me? The answer, Why not you. I believe the Lord gets our attention in many ways.

I believe some Christians may quote when misfortune hits:

Romans 8:28
And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

Work Together for God: I believe the primary reference of all things is the “suffering of this present time.”

Romans 8:18
For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

Brothers and Sisters all circumstances will work together in cooperation for our (you and I) the believer’s good. WE will be conformed to Jesus Christ now and reign with Him later.

I may not have been a good Steward to manage or care for what the Lord had blessed me with. May be I had gotten above myself, too prideful, selfish, etc.

The Bible says that God is the owner of everything and that He gives humanity (You and I) a “Stewardship.” to care for and manage His gifts. Our family is a gift from God.

James 1:17
Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.

Our lives are to be comprehensively God-Centered. God owns everything, we do not. Everything is ultimately for God, not us.

Philippians 1:21
For to me to live is Christ, and to die is gain.

I Corinthians 10:31
Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.

It was during this time, I know the Lord got my full attention not my part-time service. Today, I am an Ordained Baptist Minister, a better Servant to the Lord, a better husband, a better father, a better grandfather a better person, a better steward of His gifts.

After the fire, we were provided with a three bedroom furnished apartment to live, “NO CHARGE.” Six and 1/2 months later we moved into a 4 bedroom home with the finances to furnish. I truly believe Romans 8:28

The story of the hymns writer Fanny Crosby, the world is the beneficiary of her memorable hymns. What worked together for good was born out of her personal tragedy. She became blind at the age of 5. At the age of 8, she began to write poetry and hymns. Writing over 8,000 sacred songs and hymns. She blessed the world with songs such as “Blessed Assurance,” Safe In The Arms of Jesus.” and “Pass Me Not, O Gentle Savior. God used her difficulty to bring good for her and us; and glory for Him.

I believe God used my tragedy for His good. When tragedy befalls us, it’s hard to understand how ay good can come from it. We won’t always see it in this life. God has good purposes and always reminds us.

DOES THE LORD HAVE YOUR FULL TIME ATTENTION OR PART-TIME SERVICE?

Accept Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, today. Today is the day of salvation. You may not really have tomorrow. Have a Blessed Day.

Written by Edward Jeffries

3 thoughts on “When Things Don’t Go Well

Leave a Reply

