Who Will Stand For Jesus?

Matthew 10:32-33
32 Whosoever therefore shall confess me before men, him will I confess also before my Father which is in heaven.
33 But whosoever shall deny me before men, him will I also deny before my Father which is in heaven.

People take a stand for various causes: They Stand for Gun Control. They stand for Women’s Rights. They stand for the rights of the LGBT agenda. They stand for Black Lives Matter. They stand to protect endangered animals. My question is…Who Will Stand For Jesus?

It is easy to speak of God’s goodness, and converse about the ever darkening state of our world when we are among likeminded believers, but will we have the courage to share our faith with an unbeliever, who may have the potential of ridiculing us for our beliefs? Will we have the Christlike integrity to resist the temptation to indulge in sinful acts when none of our fellow believers are around? Will we have the courage to decline to partake in or support movements that are contrary to the Word of God, even at the risk of us being labeled as “old fashioned” or “intolerant”?

Jesus makes it clear to us that choosing to follow and stand for Him may cause us to come into conflict with family members, lose friends, and result in us missing out on worldly riches and fame. The Lord does assure us that anything that we forfeit in this temporary world, will pale in comparison to the blessings we will reap in the eternal world to come. (Read Matthew 10:21-22; 10:35-39; Matthew 16:24-27)

It is my prayer that each of us will live our life in a manner that, at the close of our mortal life, we will be able to echo Paul’s words below with assurance:

II Timothy 4:7-8
7 I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:
8 Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.

Here are a few of Jesus’ promises to those who stand tall in the face of opposition.
1. We will partake in the Rapture of the Church, prior to the Tribulation (Rev. 3:10(
2. A Crown of Life (Rev. 3:10)
3. A position in His earthly administration, during the Millennial Kingdom (Rev. 2:26-27)
4. Our name will be written in the Lamb’s Book of Life, certifying our reservation for Heaven (Rev. 3:5)

Romans 8:34 tells us that Jesus sits at the right hand of God the Father, making intercession for each and every one of us. Now listen to what Stephen’s testimony of what he witnessed, prior to being killed:

Acts 7:55-56
55 But he, being full of the Holy Ghost, looked up stedfastly into heaven, and saw the glory of God, and Jesus standing on the right hand of God,
56 And said, Behold, I see the heavens opened, and the Son of man standing on the right hand of God.

This is the only occurrence, that I can think of, mentioned in the Bible of Jesus standing up at the right hand. Could it be that at times of our greatest perils, our Savior rises to His feet in support of us? I also view this as encouraging confirmation that for we who faithfully serve the Savior to the point of mortal death, He rises from His seat to personally welcome us into our Heavenly home.

Whether in a seated or standing position, Jesus Christ is in support of we who serve Him with a pure heart. Will you stand for Him?

One thought on “Who Will Stand For Jesus?

  1. Count me in….I will proudly stand for my God and Savior Jesus Christ. In a loud voice I proclaim that I follow Jesus Christ. This should be a proclamation for all believers and especially in the sight of men.

    Matthew 10:33
    33 But whoever denies Me before men, I will also deny him before My Father in heaven.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

