We All Need To Reconcile And Forgive

Reconcile-Restore friendly relations between, to find a way of making (two different ideas, facts, etc.) to cause people or groups to become friendly again after an argument or disagreement.

II Corinthians 5:18-19
18 And all things are of God, who hath reconciled us to himself by Jesus Christ, and hath given to us the ministry of reconciliation;
19 To wit, that God was in Christ, reconciling the world unto himself, not imputing their trespasses unto them; and hath committed unto us the word of reconciliation.

Because of Christ’s propitiation, His satisfaction of God’s righteous demands, God is now able to turn towards us. God has made us new creatures in Christ and has given us the ministry of reconciliation. A word meaning, ” a change of relation from enmity to peace.” You and I who have been reconciled to God have the privilege of telling others that they can be reconciled to Him as well. Read Matthew 18:15; Romans 5:10; Ephesian 1:7; and Colossians 1:19-22,

Forgive-Stop feeling angry or resentful towards (someone) for an offense, flaw, or mistake

IJohn 1:9
If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

John uses “we” primarily to refer to himself and the other apostles as eye witnesses of Christ. (read I John 1:1) Here the term includes all believers who confess (acknowledge) sin. God says that we are sinners in need of forgiveness. (Read Acts 3:19; 2d Corinthians 5:17; Ephesians 1:7)

Friends, read through the following list of relationships that may need to be made right in your life:

1. Have I mistreated anyone by my actions or with my words that I have not gone to the person and asked forgiveness.
2. Have I stolen anything from a person, an organization, a business, my employer, or anyone else and not gone back and made restitution.
3. Do I hold a grudge or bitterness in my heart toward anyone?
4. Have I gossiped about or slandered another person?
5. Have I done anything illegal which I need to confess?
6. Have I borrowed anything that I have failed to return?
7. Have I lied to anyone or falsified information?
8. Am I currently in a wrong or immoral relationship with anyone?
9. Have I allowed jealousy, envy, or resentment to have a negative effect on the way I have related to a person or group?
10. Have I sinned against God and another person or group by committing any of the following sins?
anger, anxiety, arguing, arrogance, bitterness, blasphemy, boasting, conceit, complaining, competition, covetousness, cursing, critical spirit, deception, unforgiveness, discord, disorder, divisiveness, envy, fear, fits of rage, gossip, greed, grumbling, hatred, hypocrisy, impatience, impurity, lack of love, lies, prejudice, pride strife, and unbelief.

Luke 17:3-4
3 Take heed to yourselves: If thy brother trespass against thee, rebuke him; and if he repent, forgive him.
4 And if he trespass against thee seven times in a day, and seven times in a day turn again to thee, saying, I repent; thou shalt forgive him.

The best place to start with forgiveness is to ask the Lord Jesus Christ to forgive us of our sins, and to come into our heart, and empower us to forgive others. Tomorrow is not promised to any of us. Ask Jesus into your heart, while there is yet time.

3 thoughts on “We All Need To Reconcile And Forgive

  1. Thank you Marques!! I’ve been trying to do exactly this in my workplace where there has been division created by 1 or 2 people. I’ve taken this problem and spoken to each of these people without accusing them, I simply said, we are not perfect, no, what we are supposed to be is a team working together, holding eachother up, standing in the gap for one another, no more division should exist in this one place (our office). I feel if I can get everyone to hear God through me then they can each fix something else in another area in their life. Some have laughed at my concern and my willingness to try to change things but I’m going to continue on. I’ve done this slowly in my family, for those who will listen. Not all are believers, so I do the best I can.
    Thanks for sharing Marques!! God bless you!!πŸ˜Šβ€β˜πŸ‘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi, Andi. I too wish more people would take heed to the God ordained advice that we are sharing in the workplace, family, and community, but sadly so many folks are determined to travel that broad and wide road. Thank the Lord, when we stand before Jesus, He will only hold us accountable sharing what He has given us. Stay encouraged, and keep doing what your doing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

