Serenity Prayer

Psalm 37:1-9
Psalm 37:1

Serenity Prayer:

God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.

Attempting to stay aware of all the current events in the United States and Abroad has its downside because bad news tends to travel faster than good news. We must keep in mind: God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and the wisdom to know the difference.

It’s easy for you and I to become concerned about racism, prejudice, terrorism, wars and rumors of wars, and/or local, state, and federal governments over whom we have no control.
I believe Psalm 37 gives you and I perspective to the daily, local and national news.

PSALM 37:1
Fret not thyself because of evildoers, neither be thou envious against the workers of iniquity.

Psalm 37 further outlines for you and I some alternatives to becoming anxious. Psalm 37 suggest a better way of thinking about negative news in the world. Rather than worry about events beyond our control, we must choose to trust in the Lord.

Psalm 37:3
Trust in the Lord, and do good; so shalt thou dwell in the land, and verily thou shalt be fed.

I believe you and I would be better off to”

Psalm 37:4
Delight thyself also in the Lord: and he shall give thee the desires of thine heart.

Imagine the freedom from worry we could have if we would

Psalm 37:5
Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.

Imagine how calm we could be by learning to

Psalm 37:7
Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.

Friends, news of troubles in the world we cannot change offers us an opportunity to set boundaries for our concerns. As you and I trust God, commit our ways to Him, and rest in Him, our outlook brightens. The struggles and trials may not disappear, however you and I will discover that He gives us His peace in the midst of them.

Heavenly Father, we see danger and trouble all around us. Please help us not to worry but instead to: trust and rest in You. Show us the peace that comes from waiting patiently on You.

Leave a Reply

