Waiting For An Answer: Be patient

Waiting for an Answer-Be Patient
Psalm 9:1-10 Prayer and Thanksgiving for the Lord’s Righteous Judgment
Psalm 28:7 Rejoicing in Answered Prayer
Psalm 37:7 Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for Him
James 5:7-11 Be Patient and Persevering
Psalm 9:10

Adults and children alike want instant gratification, You and I don’t like waiting.
1. Patience is a virtue.
2. Patience makes life more peaceful.
3. Patience gives us greater appreciation.
4. Most importantly, though, patience is God pleasing.
5. Good Things Come to Those Who Wait Patiently.

James 5:7-11
7 Be patient therefore, brethren, unto the coming of the Lord. Behold, the husbandman waiteth for the precious fruit of the earth, and hath long patience for it, until he receive the early and latter rain.
8 Be ye also patient; stablish your hearts: for the coming of the Lord draweth nigh.
9 Grudge not one against another, brethren, lest ye be condemned: behold, the judge standeth before the door.
10 Take, my brethren, the prophets, who have spoken in the name of the Lord, for an example of suffering affliction, and of patience.
11 Behold, we count them happy which endure. Ye have heard of the patience of Job, and have seen the end of the Lord; that the Lord is very pitiful, and of tender mercy.

I. Waiting on the Lord requires patience and trust.
Psalm 37:7 Rest in the Lord, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.
a. waiting means that you and I give God the benefit of the doubt that he knows what he is doing. Give God the benefit of the doubt that he knows what he is doing.
b. waiting is God’s way of seeing if you and I trust him before we move forward.

II. Waiting on God reminds us that God is in control.
a. waiting reminds me that I am not in charge.
b. waiting reminds me that I am not God

III. Waiting on the Lord allows him to do his work.
a. God’s timing is best
b. God is working

IV. Waiting on God increases my strength.
Psalm 28:7 7 The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusted in him, and I am helped: therefore my heart greatly rejoiceth; and with my song will I praise him.

You and I have to wait on God when we pray. We may not know how or when He will answer, but we can put our hearts constantly before Him. Sometimes the answers don’t come when we hope. Things may even go from bad to worse. But you and I have to persevere, keep believing, and keep asking.

waiting is never easy, but the end result, whatever it is, will be worth it. David put it this way:
Psalm 9:10
And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, Lord, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.

What’s on your heart that you need to talk to God about today? Will you trust Him and keep praying? Time spent in prayer is always time well spent.

If you do not know Jesus Christ as your personal Savior, there is no better time than right now to accept Him into your heart.

Leave a Reply

