Who Are You Following?

In 2005, Istanbul, Turkey, one sheep jumped off a cliff and nearly (as the written story stated) 1,500 others followed. In the end about one-third of them died. Not knowing which way to go, sheep mindlessly follow other members of the flock.

There is an old saying: Birds of a feather floc together.

My question for you: Just as sheep, are you following the right flock?

1. Who are you following?
2. Who will you follow in 2016?

No better word picture than sheep can be found to illustrate our need as a people for a trustworthy leader.

Isaiah 53:6 All we like sheep. You and I, just as sheep tend to go our own way, however, we desperately need the sure direction of a shepherd.

Psalm 23 The Lord the Shepherd of His People described the trustworthiness of our good shepherd.
23:1 He cares for us; He provides for our physical needs
23:2 He shows us how to live holy lives.
23:3-6 He restores us, comforts us, heals us, and he will not abandon us.

My friends, what a comfort to know that God gently but firmly leads us! He does so through the urging of the Holy Spirit, the reading of His Word, and through prayer. God is the reliable leader You and I need.

John 10:27
My sheep hear My voice, and I know them and they follow Me.

1. Are you in need of a true leader?
2. Are you with the right flock?
3. Will you follow the True Shepherd Jesus Christ our Savior in 2016?

My brothers and sisters, in acknowledgment of our dependence on the Lord, You and I can say:
“The Lord is my shepherd
I shall not want
He makes me to lie down in green pastures.
He leads me beside the still waters.”
He is my Shepherd, he can and will be yours as well. Choose Him today.

Tomorrow is not promised. Today is the day to make Jesus Christ your choice. Accept Him into your heart, and walk in victory.

Leave a Reply

