The Tongue: Taming The Untamable

Here’s another message from my cousin, Edward Jeffries.

Be careful what you say, It comes from the heart

James 3:1-12 The Untamable Tongue
Matthew 12:34 A Tree Known by Its Fruit
Psalm 19:14 The Perfect Revelation of the Lord
Psalm 39:1 Prayer for Wisdom and Forgiveness
Psalm 141:3 Prayer for Safekeeping from Wickedness

Humans have learned to tame wild animals. People enjoy teaching monkeys to “act” in commercials or training deer to eat out of their hands. As James puts it:

James 3:7 For every kind of beast and bird, of reptile and creature of the sea, is tamed and has been tamed by mankind.

Brothers and Sisters, there is something you and I cannot tame. All of us have trouble getting a little thing called the tongue under control.

James 3:8 But no man can tame the tongue. It is unruly evil, full of deadly poison.

WHY?

Because our words may be on the tip of our tongue, they originate from deep within:

Matthew 12:34 Brood of vipers! How can you, being evil, speak good things? For out of the abundance of the heart the mouth speaks.

James 3:9 With it we bless our God and Father, and with it we curse men, who have been made in the similitude of God.

Brothers and Sisters, on the one hand, (the tongue) is very religious, but on the other, it can be most profane. If you and I cannot tame this unruly tongue of ours, it is destined to be a daily problem for us, always prone to speak evil.

James 3:10 Out of the same mouth proceed blessings and cursing. My brethren, these things ought not to be so.

Psalm 19:14 Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in Your sight, O Lord, my strength and my Redeemer.

Psalm 39:1 I said, “I will gusrd my ways, lest I sin with my tongue; I will restrain my mouth with a muzzle, while the wicked are before me.

Psalm 141:3 Set a guard, O Lord, over my mouth; keep watch over the door of my lips.

• Don’t let your ears witness what your eyes didn’t see.
• Don’t let your mouth speak what your heart doesn’t feel.
• Live an Honest life.

Accept Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ today. Today is the day of salvation. Now is the accepted time. You may not have tomorrow. Salvation is free. Have a Blessed Day.

Leave a Reply

