Saying Goodbye Is Hard To Do

Here is another message from my cousin, Edward Jeffries:

Saying Goodbye is hard, but sometimes it’s the best choice, people, friends, and habits.
Luke 9:57-62 The Cost of Discipleship
1 Corinthians 6:20 Glorify God in Body and Spirit
1 Corinthians 7:23 Live as You Are Called

Brothers and Sisters, saying goodbye is hard to family and friends, to a favorite and familiar place, to an occupation or livelihood.

Saying goodbye to my oldest son when his 30 days leave was over and he left for his duty station in the Army. Then I knew how he must have felt as a child saying goodbye to me when I was a soldier and deployed.

Brothers and Sisters in the Gospel of Luke, 9:57-62, The Cost of Discipleship, our Lord described the cost of being His disciple. A would be follower says to Jesus:
Luke 9:61 Lord, I will follow You, but let me first go and bid them farewell who are at my house.
Jesus responds:
Luke 9:62 No one, having put his hand to the plow, and looking back, is fit for the kingdom of God.

1. Is your hand on the plow?
2. Are you committed to follow Jesus?

Jesus is asking His followers to say goodbye to everything, and every relationship considered precious?
Brothers and Sisters, I know from the Word of God everything comes at a price.
1 Corinthians 6:20 For you were bought at a price; therefore glorify God in your body and in your spirit, which are God’s.
1 Corinthians 7:23 You were bought at a price; do not become slaves of men.
In some Asian languages there are no direct equivalent of the English word goodbye, The two characters used in Chinese translation of this word really mean “see you again.” and in Korean “be careful, see you again.”

Brothers and Sisters from personal experiences, becoming a follower of Jesus, I was rejected by many whom I considered close-friends and friends. I did not say goodbye to people in the sense that we were to forget all our past relationships. Saying goodbye simply means that God wants you and I to follow Him on His terms. It is only then, I believe you and I will see people again from the right perspective.
God wants the best for us, but you and I must allow Him to take priority over everything.

I have decided to follow Jesus
No turning back
The world behind me, the cross before me
No turning back
Though none go with me, still I will follow
No turning back
Though I may wander, I still will follow
No turning back
I will follow you Jesus, I will follow you

Will you decide now to follow Jesus?
No turning back.

Accept Our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ today. Today is the day of salvation. Now is the accepted time. You may not have tomorrow. Salvation is free. Have a Blessed Day.

2 thoughts on “Saying Goodbye Is Hard To Do

Leave a Reply

